Planners’ Favorite Speakers, 2014

http://www.meetings-conventions.com/News/Research/Planners–Favorite-Speakers,-2014/

In our March 2014 M&C Research poll, we asked meeting professionals, “Who is the single best speaker you have heard in the past two years?” Following are their responses, arranged alphabetically by topical categories.

BUSINESS SKILLS

  • Mike Abrashoff, U.S. Navy captain; leadership, management techniques; washingtonspeakers.com
  • Rocky Blier, Vietnam army veteran, former NFL player; leadership, teamwork, perseverance; rockyblier.com
  • Joel Cohen, writer, co-executive producer, The Simpsons; innovation, creativity, teamwork; thelavinagency.com
  • Barbara Corcoran, real-estate mogul, business consultant; leadership, branding, marketing; barbaracorcoran.com

CURRENT AFFAIRS/MEDIA

LIFE BALANCE/MOTIVATIONAL/PERSONAL

  • Les Brown, author, radio and TV host; personal/professional growth; lesbrown.com
  • James Earl Jones, actor; creativity, overcoming obstacles; allamericanspeakers.com
  • Salman Kahn, founder of the Khan Academy, providing free online education worldwide; education, personal/professional growth; khanacademy.org, thelavinagency.com
  • Mark Kelly, former Space Shuttle commander for NASA; husband of former Congresswoman Gabby Giffords; balancing career and family, how he dealt with assassination attempt on his wife and her ongoing convalescence; kepplerspeakers.com
  • Kyle Maynard, competitive athlete, born without hands and feet; overcoming adversity; kyle-maynard.com
  • Dick Vitale, college basketball analyst for ABC Sports and ESPN; setting and meeting individual/organizational goals; dicvitaleonline.com

MILITARY

  • Marcus Luttrell, retired U.S. Navy SEAL; courage, integrity and patriotism; marcusluttrell.com
  • Maj. Dan Pantaleo, retired Marine Corps major; “he was one of the first responders at the Pentagon when it was hit on 9/11. Powerful speaker with a great message to businesses about leadership during chaotic and stressful situations”; danpantaleo.com

SPORTS

  • Walter Bond, former NBA player and business owner; responsibility and productivity; walterbond.com
  • Lucas Daniel Boyce, director, business development and legislative affairs, Orlando Magic NBA basketball team; overcoming obstacles, personal/professional growth; lucasdanielboyce.com
  • Magic Johnson, retired pro basketball player; sports, overcoming obstacles; magicjohnson.com
  • Apollo Ohno, retired short-track speed skater, Olympic gold medalist; sports, personal/professional growth; apoloantonohno.com

TRAVEL

  • Andrew Evans, contributing editor, National Geographic Traveler; “he was absolutely an engaging storyteller who tied in his message to our transit conference. Everyone loved him!! events.nationalgeographic.com
  • Dave Serino, strategist, educator; travel, tourism, meetings, social media; slideshare.net/daveserino
  • Rick Steves, guidebook author, TV travel host; how to be a smart, independent traveler, European travel; ricksteves.com